NFTC Celebrates Centennial World Trade Dinner
"The NFTC Story" Artwork
NFTC 100 Historic Timeline
Centennial Events
Honors and Awards
Past NFTC Presidents and Chairmen
This Week in Trade History
President Woodrow Wilson Address
Founding Members (1914)
NFTC Convention 1914 Attendees

Honors and Awards

Honors and Awards
The NFTC has been honored many times in its 100 years, most notably as one of the inaugural winners of the prestigious President's "E" Award for Exporting Service Excellence in 1962, the nation's highest export honor.
In 2014, our Centennial year, the NFTC was honored by NASBITE International with its Advancing International Trade Award; the World Trade Week NYC with its Global Trade Award. And on May 28, 2014, our centennial birthday, the NFTC was presented the President's "E Star" Award for our continued excellence in opening markets and supporting US exporters.
The NFTC also maintains its own awards program, a tradition since 1938.
The family of Captain Robert Dollar, founder of the Dollar Steamship Lines and a charter member of the NFTC Board of Directors, created an annual award in his name to recognize business and policy leaders for their accomplishments in the advancement of international trade and investment. The first winner of the Captain Robert Dollar Award was Secretary of State Cordell Hull.

The Captain Dollar award was last presented in 1985, presented that year to David Packard, co-founder of Hewlett Packard Company. (Scroll down for complete list of winners and Biography of CAPTAIN ROBERT DOLLAR.)

In February, 2002, the Board of Directors of the NFTC created the annual World Trade Award in the tradition of the Captain Robert Dollar Memorial Award, for lifetime achievement in advancing open world trade and investment.

  • Cordell Hull, Secretary of State -------1938
  • James A. Farrell, National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. ----1939
  • Thomas J. Watson, International Business Machines Corporation ---1940
  • Eugene P. Thomas, National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. ----1941
  • Sumner Welles, Under Secretary of State ------1942
  • Juan T. Trippe, Pan American Airways System -----1943
  • Eric A. Johnston, Chamber of Commerce of the United States ---1944
  • Fred I Kent, Bankers Trust Company ------1945
  • William L. Clayton, Under Secretary of State for Economic Affairs --1946
  • John Abbink, McGraw-Hill International Corporation ----1947
  • Albert F. Loree, National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. ----1948
  • Christian A. Herter, U. S. House of Representatives -----1949
  • Paul G. Hoffman, Economic Cooperation Administration ----1950
  • James A. Farley, The Coca-Cola Export Corporation ----1951
  • Edward Riley, General Motors Corporation ------1952
  • Eugene Holman, Standard Oil Company ------1953
  • Clarence B. Randall, Inland Steel Company ------1954
  • George W. Wolf, United States Steel Export Company ----1955
  • William S. Swingle, National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. ----1956
  • Howard C. Sheperd, First National City Bank of New York ---1957
  • W. Rogers Herod, International General Electric Company ----1958
  • Samuel C. Waugh, Export-Import Bank of Washington ----1959
  • Henry W. Balgooyen, American & Foreign Power Company Inc. ---1960
  • J. Peter Grace, W. R. Grace & Co. -------1961
  • William E. Knox, Westinghouse Electric International Company ---1962
  • James A. Farrell, Jr., Farrell Lines, Inc. ------1963
  • David Rockefeller, The Chase Manhattan Bank-----1964
  • Thomas J. Watson, Jr., International Business Machines Corporation --1965
  • George S. Moore, First National City Bank ------1966
  • William Blackie, Caterpillar Tractor Co. ------1967
  • Harold F. Linder, Export-Import Bank of the United States ----1968
  • Elis S. Hoglund, National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. ----1969
  • Rudolph A. Peterson, Bank of America NT&SA -----1970
  • Henry Kearns, Export-Import Bank of the United States ----1971
  • Robert J. Dixson, Johnson & Johnson; National Foreign Trade Council, Inc. -1972
  • Walter B. Wriston, First National City Corporation -----1973
  • George P. Shultz, Bechtel Corporation ------1974
  • Stephen D. Bechtel, Bechtel Group of Companies -----1975
  • Reginald H. Jones, General Electric Company -----1976
  • Irving S. Shapiro, E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company, Incorporated --1977
  • J. Paul Austin, The Coca-Cola Company ------1978
  • J. Robert Fluor, Fluor Corporation -------1979
  • T.A. Wilson, The Boeing Company -------1980
  • A.W. Clausen, The World Bank -------1981
  • William E. Brock, The United States Trade Representative----1982
  • Malcolm Baldrige, Secretary of Commerce ------1983
  • Lee L. Morgan, Caterpillar Tractor Co. ------1984
  • David Packard, Hewlett-Packard Company ------1985
  • Donald Evans, U.S. Secretary of Commerce------2002
  • Lee Raymond, Chairman & CEO ExxonMobil-----2003
  • Raymond V. Gilmartin, Chairman & CEO, Merck & Company---2004
  • Michael Jordan, Chairman & CEO, EDS Corporation----2005
  • Charles O. Holliday, Jr., Chairman and CEO, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.-2006
  • James W. Owens, Chairman and CEO, Caterpillar, Inc.----2007
  • Congressman Gregory W. Meeks, U.S. House of Representatives --2008
  • Herbert L. Henkel, Chairman & CEO, Ingersoll Rand ----2009
  • Congressman Dave Camp, U.S. House of Representatives----2010
  • Congressman David Dreier, U.S. House of Representatives-----2012
  • Dr. C. Fred Bergsten, Peterson Institute for International Economics----2013

    Robert Dollar was born in Falkirk, Scotland, in 1844. He emigrated in 1858 to Ottawa, Canada, where he worked for a year in a lumber mill. At the age of 13, he joined on Ontario lumber camp as a cook's chore boy. At 21, he was put in charge of a camp of 50 lumberjacks.

    Mr. Dollar moved to Marquette, Michigan in 1882. After moving again, to San Rafael, California, in 1888, he bought a tract of redwoods in northern California and set up a sawmill, shipping tall timber to the Pacific Coast and foreign countries.

    Starting in 1895 with a 300-ton steam schooner, Newsboy, which carried his lumber to Pacific Coast markets, Mr. Dollar became a ship owner. In 1898 the Grace Dollar was launched at Fulton Iron Works in San Francisco, the first of a long line of ships that Captain Dollar and his sons built and bought during the next forty years.

    In 1923 he inaugurated the Dollar Line round-the-world service with seven freight and passenger liners, named for American Presidents -'the first ships to carry the American flag around the world on regular schedules. In 1925 he established the Dollar Trans-Pacific service with a fleet of ships on a regular run between Pacific ports and Japan, China and Manila. They carried lumber to the Orient, returning with teas, spices, silks and iron ore. "This is an age of the Pacific," he said.

    An untiring traveler, Captain Dollar became an expert on Chinese affairs and a close friend of President Li Yuan-hung and other Chinese statesmen. "I'm not a Captain," he once said. "Everybody just calls me that, I suppose, because I run ships."

    Robert Dollar became known as "Dean of American Shipping." A memorandum prepared by the Council following the establishment of the Award paid the following tribute: "He saw in foreign trade opportunities to bring the peoples of the world close~ together in peace and understanding. He saw in foreign trade, an opportunity to extend to other peoples beyond the sea the blessings and material prosperity of America."

    Captain Dollar died in 1932 at the age of 87. His son, R. Stanley Dollar, President of the Robert Dollar Co., was a Director of the National Foreign Trade Council from 1955 to his death in 1958. His grandson, R. Stanley Dollar, Jr., also President of the Robert Dollar Co., was a Director from 1958 to his death on November 17, 1975. The Dollar Line steamships ceased operations under that name in 1952.