Trade Committee meeting introducing the Canadian Embassy”s New Trade Team

Date: 10/22/09

Subject: Trade Committee meeting introducing the Canadian Embassy’s New Trade Team

The Trade Committee will meet on Thursday, October 22, 2:30-3:30pm with Paul Robertson, the incoming Minister – Economic Affairs at the Canadian Embassy and other officials in their Trade Policy Unit at NFTC, 1625 K Street, NW, Suite 200, Washington, DC to discuss the US-Canada commercial relationship and trade policy agenda. Paul has succeeded Susan Harper in this position.

Others joining us include:

Martin Moen, Counsellor – Head of Trade Policy Section (succeeding Lynn McDonald)
Sean Clark, Second Secretary – Trade Policy (Succeeding Yannick Mondy)
Kevin Thompson, Counsellor – Trade Policy (to be confirmed.) (Portfolio: softwood lumber, government procurement, trade remedies, technical barriers to trade, China trade policy, trade and labor)
Brenda Wills, Second Secretary – Trade Policy (Portfolio: FTAs, US trade preference programs, WTO Doha Round, sanctions, telecoms, e-commerce and privacy)

Among the outstanding issues for discussion are:
– Buy America laws and Provincial procurement
– Softwood lumber
– Country of Origin Labeling
– Canada-EU FTA negotiations
– Canda’s views of the Doha round

If there are any issues in particular you want to make sure are covered, please let me know and I’ll pass it on to the embassy.

This meeting is for NFTC members only and is OFF THE RECORD.

Please RSVP by reply email to Chuck Dittrich at if you will attend.