Press Releases
NFTC in the News
Publications
Blog



NFTC in the News
Wednesday, 3.1.17
Lawmakers urge Trump not to withdraw from global trading system
Inside U.S. Trade
 
Friday, 2.24.17
NFTC makes a plea for a speedy Lighthizer confirmation
Inside U.S. Trade
 
Tuesday, 2.21.17
Here’s How To Get America’s Trade Policies Back On Track
Alan Wolff, NFTC Chairman
 
Tuesday, 2.7.17
How President Trump Can Move On From His First Tense Days In Office
Alan Wolff, NFTC Chairman
 
Thursday, 2.2.17
Group of Companies Consider Joint Letter to Trump Opposing Travel Ban
Wall Street Journal
 
Tuesday, 1.3.17
What Donald Trump Can Learn From the Legacy of Abraham Lincoln
Alan Wolff, NFTC Chairman
 
Monday, 12.12.16
US trade group will work with Trump; defend free trade rules
AFP
 
Saturday, 12.3.16
China risks undermining a unique economic and environmental pact
Jake Colvin
 
Sunday, 8.3.14
Fight Over Comma Sinks WTO Deal
New Zealand Herald
 
Thursday, 7.31.14
WTO Talks Near Collapse Over India’s Objections
Bloomberg
 
Thursday, 7.31.14
Is India ‘Holding A Gun To Its Own Head?
CNBC
 
Thursday, 7.31.14
Indian Objections Sink WTO Deal
Financial Times
 
Thursday, 7.31.14
India Demands Block $1 Trillion WTO Deal On Customs Rules
Reuters
 
Tuesday, 7.29.14
Business Presses India To Drop Objections To Trade Deal
Financial Times
 
Friday, 7.25.14
EU Warns Global Trade Talks Risk Collapse As India Makes Demands
Bloomberg
 
Wednesday, 7.23.14
Conflicting Signals Coming From India’s Stand On WTO Agreement: Jake Colvin
Economic Times
 
Wednesday, 5.28.14
U.S. Claims Victory Over China In WTO Car Dispute
Financial Times
 
Friday, 3.21.14
U.S. Moves To Push Global Trade Deal On Green Goods
AFP
 
Thursday, 10.10.13
Sen. Wyden Says New TPA Framework Should Reflect 21st Century Challenges
Bloomberg BNA
 
Wednesday, 5.8.13
Brazilian Becomes First Latin American Director Of The World Trade Organization
FOX News Latino
 
Wednesday, 5.8.13
World Trade Organization Names Brazilian As New Chief
Global Post
 
Tuesday, 5.7.13
Diplomats: Brazilian Ambassador Selected As Next World Trade Organization Director
Associated Press
 
Tuesday, 5.7.13
Overnight Money: Perez Faces First Hurdle
The Hill
 
Tuesday, 5.7.13
“Brazil’s Azevedo Becomes First Latin American To Head WTO”
Reuters
 
Monday, 5.6.13
Brazil In Tight Race With Mexico To Head WTO
Financial Times
 
Sunday, 2.3.13
Services Trade Deal Could Open U.S. To More Foreign Workers
Reuters
 
Thursday, 1.31.13
“Morocco: Devil Is In The Details – Promoting U.S. Product Standards
Morocco on the Move
 
Thursday, 1.31.13
U.S. Ban On LNG Exports Would Violate WTO Rules – Experts”
Reuters
 
Wednesday, 10.17.12
Opportunity for Course Correction in Ecuador
The Hill's Global Affairs Blog, Op-ed By Bill Reinsch
 
Tuesday, 10.16.12
What Interest Groups Are Doing for the Debate
National Journal Influence Alley, By Elahe Izadi
 
Wednesday, 8.22.12
Russia – The Best Pick Among Emerging Market Stocks?
CNBC
 
Wednesday, 8.22.12
Business Leaders Want Normal Trade Relations With Russia
CNN
 
Wednesday, 8.22.12
Push Continues To Normalize Trade Relations With Russia
The Hill
 
Tuesday, 8.21.12
U.S. Business Groups See Small Window For Russia Trade Bill Before Election
Dow Jones
 
Tuesday, 8.21.12
House Aims To Take Up Trade Bill In September
The Hill
 
Thursday, 4.12.12
India challenges US over steel duties"
Financial Times, By James Politi and James Fontanella-Khan
 
Wednesday, 4.11.12
"US Officials Meet With Chamber, Trade Groups Over FCPA Guidance"
Wall Street Journal, By Samuel Rubenfeld
 
Wednesday, 2.15.12
“2012 Should Not Be A ‘Wasted Year,’ Lamy Urges WTO Members”
Bridges Weekly Trade News Digest
 
Thursday, 2.9.12
Negotiations Stall During WTO Development Round
Journal of Commerce
 
Wednesday, 2.8.12
Fresh Ideas For Modernizing Global Trade Rules
The Hill, Op-ed by Jake Colvin
 
Wednesday, 2.8.12
U.S. Businesses Urge New Agenda At World Trade Organization
Reuters
 
Tuesday, 11.8.11
SIIA: Data Management Rules Holding Back Growth
Experian QAS
 
Tuesday, 11.8.11
SIIA Joins Call For U.S. Action To Promote Cross-Border Data Flows
Software Development Times
 
Monday, 11.7.11
Data Management Needs Open, Standardized International Rules
Information Management Online
 
Saturday, 11.5.11
Let Data Move More Freely Across Borders: Business-Tech Alliance
Smart Planet
 
Friday, 11.4.11
Tech Giants To Feds: We Need Free Trade For Data
CNN Money
 
Thursday, 11.3.11
Tech Firms Warn About Global Threat Of Digital Protectionism
Nextgov
 
Thursday, 11.3.11
Overnight Tech: On Tap Thursday
The Hill
 
Thursday, 11.3.11
Top U.S. companies urge new Internet trade rules
Reuters, By Doug Palmer
 
Thursday, 10.6.11
Stalled free trade deals now on a fast track, White House says
Christian Science Monitor, By Howard LaFranchi
 
Thursday, 10.6.11
Senate May Vote on Trade Pacts Oct. 12 as Daley Urges Passage
Bloomberg Businessweek, By Eric Martin
 
Thursday, 10.6.11
Trade Deals Could Be Voted on Next Week
Wall Street Journal, By Tom Barkley and Elizabeth Williamson
 
Thursday, 10.6.11
Trade deals were cash cow for K Street
The Hill, By Kevin Bogardus
 
Wednesday, 10.5.11
Daley Says Trade Agreements Should Clear U.S. Congress Next Week
Bloomberg Businessweek, By Eric Martin
 
Thursday, 7.14.11
Australia Seeks Creativity In Stalled Doha Talks
Reuters
 
Wednesday, 6.22.11
Taking yes for an answer on “zeroing
The Hill's Congress blog: Bill Reinsch
 
Wednesday, 6.22.11
NFTC President Bill Reinsch Provides Insight on “Zeroing”
 
Thursday, 6.9.11
Groups Urge USTR To Reject Proposal Restricting International Standards Choice
Product Finishing Magazine
 
Thursday, 6.9.11
China Drops Turbine Part Subsidies After WTO Challenge
Environmental Finance
 
Wednesday, 6.8.11
The End Of China’s Wind Subsidy Program And The Future Of Global Clean Technology Markets
Huffington Post
 
Wednesday, 6.8.11
Tobacco Pleads For Pack Delay
The Australian
 
Wednesday, 4.20.11
WTO Chief Meets With Trade Diplomats About Doha
Associated Press
 
Monday, 3.28.11
Business Groups Say Doha Round Hopes Fading
Reuters, By Doug Palmer
 
Wednesday, 3.9.11
Unlocking Business Support For A Global Trade Deal
Reuters
 
Tuesday, 1.11.11
US Targets China In Renewable Subsidies
Environmental Finance
 
Thursday, 1.6.11
What is the role of the WTO in contributing to the global economic recovery?
 
Thursday, 3.11.10
U.S.’s Green Trade Ambitions Needn’t Wait on Doha Round
The Hill, by Jake Colvin
 
Thursday, 10.22.09
Gloom, Frustration Mark Doha Talks
Thomson Reuters, Jonathan Lynn
 
Thursday, 9.3.09
Boeing, U.S. Seen Winning WTO Case on European Aid to Airbus
Bloomberg, Mark Drajem
 
Monday, 8.3.09
Remove Environmental Goods Talks from Doha: U.S. Groups
Thomson Reuters, Doug Palmer
 
Friday, 5.8.09
'Like Waiting for Godot,' WTO Awaits Next U.S. Move
 
Wednesday, 4.8.09
USTR Stresses Importance Of Innovation
Andrew Noyes, Tech Daily Dose [National Journal]
 
Wednesday, 4.8.09
U.S. Business Needs Protection from Knock-Offs: USTR
Roberta Rampton, Thomson Reuters
 
Wednesday, 4.8.09
USTR's Kirk Vows `Enhanced Focus' On Enforcing Trade Rules
Tom Barkley, Dow Jones
 
Friday, 3.20.09
Business Grps, NGOs Urge US To Promote Trade, Development
Tom Barkley, Dow Jones
 
Friday, 3.20.09
Pro-Free Trade Groups Put Together Broad Coalition
Bob Davis, Wall Street Journal Blog
 
Tuesday, 3.3.09
Obama Unveils Long-Awaited Trade Agenda
Tax-News.com
 
Thursday, 2.19.09
No Trade-off on Trade
Lara Birkes and Jake Colvin, The Guardian
 
Tuesday, 11.18.08
G20 Commitments on Trade Seen as Toothless, Important
Heather Scott, Market News International
 
Tuesday, 7.29.08
U.S. Still Committed to Doha, Capping Farm Subsidies
Meena Thiruvengadam, Dow Jones
 
Wednesday, 7.23.08
U.S. Resists Push for WTO rules on Food Names
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Monday, 7.21.08
U.S. Business Groups Push For Good Deal - Or No Deal - On Doha
Tom Barkley, Dow Jones
 
Wednesday, 7.16.08
U.S. Will Make ‘Enormous’ Cuts for WTO Deal
Reuters
 
Thursday, 7.10.08
U.S. Business Begins Push for post-Bush Trade Deals
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Friday, 5.23.08
NAMA Text Opens Door For Fewer Developing Country Concessions
Inside U.S. Trade [Subscription Only]
 
Tuesday, 5.20.08
U.S. Business Awaits Hard Choices in Doha Talks
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Tuesday, 5.20.08
U.S. Businesses Slam WTO Proposals
Bloomberg
 
Thursday, 5.15.08
U.S House Votes to Keep Farm Subsidies
James Politi, Financial Times
 
Friday, 4.25.08
U.S. Business Representatives Say Doha Deal Unlikely This Year
Inside U.S. Trade [Subscription Only]
 
Wednesday, 4.16.08
U.S. Trade Lobby says Doha Faces Better Prospects in Congress than Colombia Free Trade Deal
Associated Press
 
Wednesday, 4.16.08
American Industry Groups To Press Hill For WTO Deal
William New, Congress Daily PM [Subscription Only]
 
Wednesday, 4.16.08
U.S. Lobbyists Hopeful for Doha Deal Despite Colombia
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Monday, 4.14.08
A Win for Reforms; Old College Try
Kate Ackley and Tory Newmeyer, Roll Call [Subscription Only]
 
Monday, 12.3.07
Trade Talks Progress Via Incremental Approach
Alan Beattie, Financial Times
 
Friday, 10.12.07
WTO Seeks to Rekindle Doha Support
John Zarocostas, Women’s Wear Daily
 
Friday, 10.12.07
Developing Countries Demand Changes In NAMA, Link To Agriculture
Inside U.S. Trade [Subscription Only]
 
Wednesday, 10.10.07
U.S. Manufacturers Fear Doha Trade Round Failure
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Wednesday, 8.29.07
Next Few Months Seen as Last Chance for WTO Deal
Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Friday, 7.20.07
U.S. Trade Analysts: Sept Last Chance for WTO Doha Accord
Monica Boland, Market News International
 
Wednesday, 7.18.07
U.S. Cautious on Doha Drafts, Business Dissatisfied
Missy Ryan & Doug Palmer, Reuters
 
Friday, 6.22.07
U.S., EU, India, Brazil Trade Talks Falter
Steve Hirsch, Washington Times
 
Monday, 1.15.07
World Business Groups Urge Push for WTO Deal
Reuters
 
Saturday, 1.6.07
EU Urges U.S. to Seize Chance for Global Trade Deal
David Brunnstrom & William Schomberg, Reuters
 
Thursday, 7.29.04
OP-ED: “Has the WTO Lost its Compass?
NFTC Vice President & John Weekes, Globe and Mail